The History of Money and Playing Cards in “Canada”

Interesting little-known history.

thewealthofchips

I have found myself this year in great straits with regard to the subsistence of the soldiers. You did not provide for funds, my Lord, until January last. I have, notwithstanding, kept them in provisions until September, which makes eight full months. I have drawn upon my own funds and from those of my friends, all I have been able to get, but at last finding them without means to render me further assistance, and not knowing to what Saint to say my vows, money being extremely scarce, having distributed considerable sums on every side for the pay of the soldiers, it occurred to me to issue, instead of money, notes on cards, which I have cut in quarters. . . I have issued an ordinance by which I have obliged all the inhabitants to receive this money in payments, and to give it circulation, at the same time pledging…

View original post 2,213 more words

One thought on “The History of Money and Playing Cards in “Canada”

  1. Pingback: The History of Money and Playing Cards in “Canada” | Will S.' Random Weirdness Blog

Leave a Reply

